Five candidates chosen for Election Commission

Election Commission member Somchai Srisutthiyakorn inspects electronic devices and other equipment such as a smart card reader expected to be used in the general election. (Photo by Apichit Jinakul)

Five out of 15 shortlisted candidates have been chosen to sit on the Election Commission.

The EC selection panel, chaired by Supreme Court President Cheep Jullamon, spent almost three hours to hear presentations from 15 shortlisted candidates vying for vacant positions at the EC.

Four of them passed the first round of the recruitment process. They included Mr Ruangwit Katesuwan, former dean of Chaiyaphum Rajabhat University; Mr Takorn Tanthasit, secretary-general of the Office of the National Boradcasting and Telecommissions Commission; Mr Issaree Hansacharoonroj, former dean of Rajamangala University of Technology Rattanakosin and Ms Chompan Pongcharoen Sutheerachart, legal consultant at Worawisit Co and head of Sutheerachart law office,

In the second round of the recruitment process, Mr Pracha Terat, former governor of Narathiwat, Chon Buri and Surat Thani, was selected, Thai media reported on Tuesday.

The panel would submit the list of five candidates to the National Legislative Assembly for endorsement.

According to the law governing the Election Commission, five of the seven-member commission are selected from the pool of qualified applicants, while two others are picked by the Assembly of the Supreme Court judges.

The assembly earlier picked one candidate and will select the remaining candidate on Wednesday.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *